NHS inducts 58 new members

by Pam Boynton

In a ceremony marked by the traditional lighting of candles, the Lauralton Hall chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 58 new members—4 seniors and 54 juniors. "The inductees tonight are a special group, recognized for their academic prowess and attention to community service, leadership, and character," said Chris Cook, Co-Moderator of the chapter. "We are so very proud of all that these young women have accomplished. It will be our pleasure to watch as they grow and shape their world," Mrs. Cook added.

Now in its second century of providing academic excellence for young women, Lauralton Hall’s chapter of the National Honor Society has lauded the talents of hundreds of young women throughout the decades. Gabrielle Shkreli, ‘13, this year’s President of the Lauralton Hall chapter, addressed all four components of the NHS function—leadership, service, character, and academic prowess. Pam Boynton, Co-Moderator of the chapter, clarified the parameters for membership. "To be considered for membership, students must achieve a weighted grade point average (GPA) of 91 or above, a standard that is 6 points higher than the standard set nationally" she explained. "In a college preparatory school that can boast the placement of students in major Ivy League colleges and universities across the country, this is an elite group of scholars and role models,” Mrs. Boynton added.   

Kelly DeHart, Caitlin Kells, Caroline Lillicraf, and Catherine McNeela are the inductees from the Class of 2013. Inductees from the Class of 2014 are:  Victoria Anthony, Caroline Auger, Kiernan Black, Kathleen Brennan, Emily Castagna, Kelly Clancy, Maureen Connolly, Quinn Costantini, Amanda Daniel, Kaitlyn DeLallo, Brenna Donohue, Alexandra Ende, Carly Fabbri, Megan Fickes, MaryKate Firisin, Katherine Foley, Brittany Galuppo, Alexandra Gjoni, Brooke Goulden, Ann Marie Guzzi, Veronica Harris, Emilie Iwaszkiewicz, Abigail Janik, Caroline Kane, Cristina Kempf, Ariel Kovlakas, Elizabeth Lamonte, Rachel Landock, Victoria Lang, Aubrey Lowe, Ali Luchini, Nicole McBride, Emma McCarthy, Emily Menendez, Alexandra Mueller, Brittany O’Leary, Olivia Parise, Sarah Parlato, Ana Peruzzi, Kimberly Pritchard, Elizabeth Renehan, Lauren Sell, Brittany Sendzik, Emily Shea, Amber Sheffield, Amy Jo Sheketoff, Mary Spillane, McKenzie Tavella, Ellen Tein, Jeanne-Claire Vincent, Sarah von Euler, Taylor Westermann, Taylor Whittaker, and Maria Anna Zdrodowska.

Senior officers, Gabrielle Shkreli, President; Alison Miles and Jessica Napolitano, Co-Vice Presidents; Colleen O’Connell, Secretary; and Jessica Recce, Treasurer, served as an honor guard for the evening.   

The Lauralton Hall chapter of the National Honor Society is now more than 100 members strong. To date, members have been active in fundraisers for Invisible Children and the Vera Bradley Breast Cancer Foundation. Service projects have included a book drive to supplement area elementary school libraries, a soup collection to support local food pantries, an all-school Spelling Bee, and a Peer Tutoring program offered to Lauralton Hall students. Mrs. Boynton and Mrs. Cook represent the English and Mathematics departments, respectively. Ms. Jennifer Casceillo, Dean of Students, serves as the Peer Tutor Coordinator. 


200 High Street, Milford, CT 06460  f.203.876.9760



visit us



© 2011 All Rights Reserved