National Honor Society inducts 59 new members

In an early November ceremony marked by the traditional lighting of candles, the Lauralton Hall chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 59 new members—6 seniors and 53 juniors.

The inductees were welcomed by NHS moderators and Lauralton faculty members Mrs. Christine Cook and Mrs. Theresa Napolitano. This year, along with bible readings, junior Lindsey Meyers read from education activist Malala Yousafzai’s speech to the United Nations focusing on the need for education of women and women’s rights. At the end of her reading, Meyers challenged her fellow inductees to change the world. President Iadarola called on the students to uphold the four tenants of the National Honor Society—scholarship, service, leadership, and character. She also emphasized the importance of education for women by further citing Malala’s speech.

In order to be inducted as a member of the NHS, a student must hold a weighted 92 grade point average and must submit an application demonstrating her commitment to the four tenants of the NHS. Service must include 20% additional service hours over and above the service requirement for all Lauralton students.

Inductees from the Class of 2014 are Lindsey Attolino, Marietta Khalil, Katherine Logan, Rebecca Moore, Ashley Rich and Yi Shu. Class of 2015 inductees include Willemien Araya Arancibia, Christina Augusztin, Lianne Bisch, Caitlyn Black, Sarah Boynton, Jaclyn Brewster, Marissa Browne, Tara Brunner, Taylor Choe, Sofia D’Amico, Alexa Dawid, Allison Devine, Emily Discepola, Meghan Dougherty, Kara Duggan, Gillian Ellis, Marissa Favano, Claire Feeney, Farrell Granath, Sarah Haselkamp, Christine Heisler, Megan Hurley, Amy Izzo, Margaret Landry, Suzanne Lema, Makayla Leroux, Kelsey Llewellyn, Olivia Maffei, Elizabeth Martinez, Emily Meyer, Lindsey Meyers, Jordyn Miller, Alexandra Moleski, Uma Moyse, Yvonne Nguyen, Amanda Piechota, Angela Provenzano, Minyue Ruan, Maggie Salandra, Emma SanFilippo, Caitlyn Scagliarini, Kathryn-Rose Schaffer, Melissa Serrano, Remi Smith, Lindsey Spitz, Victoria Stapleton, Vivienne Strmecki, Daniella Swaby, Claire Sweeney, Devon Valera, Jessica Vanam, Danielle Veith and Elise Vincent.

The Lauralton community congratulates these outstanding students on their accomplishments.



200 High Street, Milford, CT 06460  f.203.876.9760



visit us



© 2011 All Rights Reserved