Lauralton honors excellence at Underclass Awards Ceremony

The faculty and staff of Lauralton Hall proudly revealed the names of this year’s underclass award recipients at an awards ceremony held on June 4. More than 150 students received awards for outstanding accomplishments in academics, athletics, the arts and for community service. Following is a partial list of the awards that were presented:

  • Devon Rotary “Gloria Dodie Ireland” Service Above Self Award: Recipient: Anaka Mastrianni of Milford.
  • Excellence in Mathematics and Science Award: Fairfield University, in partnership with Sikorsky, presents this award to a student who has demonstrated excellence in mathematics and science. Recipient: Kaitlyn DeLallo of Norwalk.
  • The Frances Warde Service Award: Presented to students who achieved 100 hours of service in their community during the 2012-2013 school year. The award was given to 11 freshman, 37 sophomores and 36 juniors.
  • Hugh O’Brien Leadership Award: Recipient: Lindsey Meyers of Fairfield.
  • The Lauralton Hall Alumnae Association Award: Given to a current Lauralton Hall student who provides encouragement to her classmates; serves the school community with enthusiastic spirit and embodies the values, traditions and ideals of Lauralton Hall: Recipient: Megan Collins of Trumbull.
  • Patricia M. Kondrath Scholarship: Awarded by the Valley Community Foundation to a deserving student who is in the music program and participates in tennis, swimming or softball at Lauralton Hall. Recipient: Mary Spillane of Trumbull.
  • The Ruth Pollard Boettcher ’53 Athletic Award: Set up by Ruth’s Lauralton classmates to honor the memory of their dear friend, this award recognizes an underclass woman who has made a positive and significant contribution to the athletic program at Lauralton, either as an athlete or manager. Recipient: Micaela Murphy of Fairfield.
  • The Sister Mary O’Neil Mercy Character Award: Given in memory of Sister Mary O’Neil, this award is for the student who best exemplifies the Mercy ideals of humility, hospitality, graciousness, friendliness, generosity, intellectual curiosity and commitment. Recipient: Maureen Connolly of New Canaan.

In addition, several college book awards and prizes were presented to students who demonstrated achievements in academics and other areas. Following is a partial list of these awards and recipients:

  • The Albertus Magnus College Book Award: Given to a junior who shows a commitment to and achievement in academics. Recipient: Kimberly Pritchard of Milford.
  • Anthony Marino Book Scholarship: Recipient: Kelly Aarons of Bridgeport.
  • The Cornell University Book Award: Given to a junior who shows awareness of cultural diversity and is an excellent student, good citizen and innovative thinker.   Recipient: Jeanne-Claire Vincent of Stamford.
  • The Dartmouth College Book Award: Given to a junior who has demonstrated intellectual leadership and has made a positive contribution to the extracurricular life of the school. Recipient: Kaitlyn DeLallo of Norwalk.
  • The Fairfield University Book Award: Given to a student who is active in school or community activities and possesses leadership qualities coupled with a sense of concern and responsibility for others. Recipient: Taylor Whittaker of Milford.
  • The Harvard Book Prize: Given to an outstanding student who combines excellence in scholarship with achievement in other fields. Recipient: Ann Marie Guzzi of Fairfield.
  • The Holy Cross Book Prize: Awarded to a student who presents exceptional academic achievement and evidences sincere concern for others and a responsible attitude in her endeavors.  Recipient:  Elizabeth Renehan of Ridgefield.
  • The Princeton University Book Prize: Awarded to a student who stands in the top 10% of her class while actively participating in the extracurricular life of Lauralton Hall.  Recipient: Megan Fickes of Fairfield.
  • Regis College Book Award: Presented to the junior who has displayed outstanding academic promise; has demonstrated academic abilities in English with strong written and oral communication skills, and has demonstrated exceptional leadership abilities within her high school or community.  Recipient: Katherine Logan of Monroe.
  • Saint Anselm College Book Award: Given to a junior who has demonstrated academic success and exceptional leadership qualities in the area of civic engagement.  Recipient: Abigail Janik of Milford.
  • The Saint Michael’s College Book Award for Academic Achievement with a Social Conscience: Given to a junior who is a member of the National Honor Society and demonstrates a sustained and sincere commitment to community service.  Recipient: Caroline Auger of Stratford.
  • The Stonehill College Alumnae Book Award: Given to a junior who has demonstrated outstanding academic performance. Recipient: Maureen Connolly of New Canaan.
  • The Wellesley College Book Award: Honors young women who have demonstrated outstanding academic performance and have also made active contributions to the extracurricular program in their community.  Recipient: Mary Kate Firisin of Easton.
  • The Yale Club of New Haven/Yale University Book Award: Presented at Yale in the fall to a deserving junior, giving the recipient the opportunity to tour the Yale Campus. Recipient:  Carly Fabbri of Stratford.

"During my 22 years at Lauralton I have always felt that the annual awards ceremonies were a testament not only to the students who have worked so hard in their academics and service projects, but to the overall academic excellence of the institution,” said Director of Guidance Connie Tallman. “The awardees have responded admirably to the expectations of the faculty who inspire and nurture intellectual curiosity and dedication."

The Lauralton community congratulates these students on their outstanding accomplishments!


200 High Street, Milford, CT 06460  f.203.876.9760



visit us



© 2011 All Rights Reserved